



Ian Fraser Memorial Trophy

This perpetual trophy is named after a former Secretary (1977-91) and Treasurer (1988-94), Ian Fraser, and is awarded to the winning pair.

Qualifying: Members are invited at the start of the season to enter the competition. The first 36 pairs will be accepted. Byes will be used to fill round 1 if insufficient members nominate.

Members can only partner one player. Visitors are not eligible to compete for the trophy. Subsequent rounds must be played by the dates specified in the Fixtures schedule.

Scheduling: All players are equally responsible for coordinating the elimination matches. Each four ball better ball (4BBB) match play round is a stroke competition played off handicap with a maximum handicap of 36 for men and 45 for women. The handicaps used for the match are the difference between the handicaps current on the day of the match, with the lowest marker playing from scratch. Strokes are taken at the holes shown in the Match Index column of the club scorecard. Rule 33 1 (Conditions) of the Rules of Golf must be observed.

Results of matches are posted on the Results page of the club website.

Match play events need not necessarily be played on the Sandringham Golf Links or be played on Saturdays. It is not necessary to return a scorecard. Advice by email is required to the Captain.

Subsequent rounds must be played on or before the date set out in the Fixtures schedule by mutual agreement. If the match is not played before the due date and only one pair is available on the due date, that pair is the winner by forfeit. If neither pair is available on the due date, and the match has not been played beforehand, both pairs are disqualified. Each four ball match must comprise the four players. It is not allowable for either team to field one player only.

Tie Breaking by Agreement: It is recommended that players decide how a tie will be handled before the match begins, using the following alternatives. Matches ending all square after 18 holes are to be decided in one of the following manners:

- Continue play hole by hole on the same day by arrangement with course management until a result is reached, OR, if this cannot be arranged,
- Replay the match over 18 holes at a mutually agreed time on or before the date fixed by the Match Committee.
- As an alternative, players may agree to have a "putt off" on the practice green. A hole shall be chosen by agreement and a marker placed 4m from the hole. The player to putt first shall be determined by the toss of a coin. The first player to hole their putt when the other misses is the winner. If both miss or sink their putt, then the starting player alternates until a result is achieved.

• By the toss of a coin.

The physical trophy for this event (pictured above) has been retired. Each member of the winning team receives \$100 prize money, and an engraved medallion presented at the AGM.

HISTORICAL WINNERS	
2024	RUTH BRANAGH & JOHN WHITE
2023	TIM NOONAN & JASON RAINBOW
2022	ROB HARRIS & COLIN HOCKLEY
2021	CANCELLED (COVID)
2020 (completed in 2021)	JAMES HONNER & CRIS PAYNE
2019	DENIS McCARTHY & JOHN McCARTHY
2018	JENNI CLARKE & CATHY DIXON
2017	DENIS McCARTHY & JOHN McCARTHY
2016	PAUL MAHON & MICHAEL WANG
2015	STUART LOW & WAYNE WALLIS
2014	JAMES POLLOCK & CHRIS SOMMERVELLE
2013	MAL McAFEE & CRIS PAYNE
2012	MAL McAFEE & PAUL RICH
2011	GEOFF MAYNARD & JASON MAYNARD
2010	CHRIS GILBERT & PETER MITCHELL
2009	GARY PATERSON & SEAN PATERSON
2008	Not Awarded
2007	MAL McAFEE & PAUL RICH
2006	STEVE FREEMAN & KEVIN RUSSELL
2005	TREVOR HEANE & PAUL RICH
2004	RAY PIERCE & JOHN WALKINGTON
2003	JOHN BRIS & ALAN CRAWFORD
2002	ADAM ROWBURY & PETER SINGE