



(view full image)

John Pittard Memorial Trophy

This event is named after a Life Member, Vice President, Handicapper and VGL Councillor. This is a singles match play competition played over a series of months. Both players are equally responsible for coordinating the match.

Qualifying: Members are invited at the start of the season to enter the competition. The first 64 entries will be accepted. Byes will be used to fill round 1 if insufficient members nominate. Visitors are not eligible to compete for the trophy.

Scheduling: All players are equally responsible for coordinating the elimination matches. All rounds are handicap match play stroke rounds which must be played on or before the date set out in the Fixtures Schedule by mutual agreement. If the match is not played before the due date and only one player is available on the due date, that player is the <u>winner by forfeit</u>. If neither player is available on the due date, and the match has not been played beforehand, <u>both players are disqualified</u>.

Results of matches are posted on the Results page of the club website.

Match play events need not necessarily be played on the Sandringham Golf Links or be played on Saturdays. It is not necessary to return a scorecard. Advice by email is required to the Captain.

Tie Breaking by Agreement: It is recommended that players decide how a tie will be handled before the match begins, using the following alternatives. Matches ending all square after 18 holes are to be decided in one of the following manners:

- Continue play hole by hole on the same day by arrangement with course management until a result is reached, OR, if this cannot be arranged,
- Replay the match over 18 holes at a mutually agreed time on or before the date fixed by the Match Committee.
- As an alternative, players may agree to have a "putt off" on the practice green. A hole shall be chosen by agreement and a marker placed 4m from the hole. The player to putt first shall be determined by the toss of a coin. The first player to hole their putt when the other misses is the winner. If both miss or sink their putt, then the starting player alternates until a result is achieved.
- By the toss of a coin.

The physical trophy for this event (pictured above) has been retired. The winner receives \$100 prize money, and an engraved medallion presented at the AGM.

Page 1 of 2 Last Updated: 17-Nov-24

HISTORICAL WINNERS	
2024	MICHAEL KENT
2023	ANDY BAKKER
2022	MICHAEL KENT
2021	CANCELLED (COVID)
2020	JAMES HONNER
2019	TREVOR SCHULTZ
2018	JAMES LEFEBVRE
2017	GEOFF THORNTON
2016	CHRIS HATTEN
2015	WAYNE WALLIS
2014	CHRIS SOMMERVELLE
2013	JOHN HAYMAN
2012	JASON MAYNARD
2011	ARCHIE HENDRY
2010	TOM HUNTER
2009	JAN CORMACK
2008	DARRIN CALVI
2007	G. ROGER
2006	ROMESH NUGAWELA
2005	FRANCIS ARMSTRONG
2004	PETER CRAWFORD

Page 2 of 2 Last Updated: 17-Nov-24